How Much is Too Much to Save a Dying Cat?

Standard
How Much is Too Much to Save a Dying Cat?

Longreads

s.e. smith | Longreads | November 2017 | 17 minutes (4,363 words)

The veterinarian looks anxious as she enters the room, clearly dreading the conversation she must have many times a night on the late shift at the emergency clinic.

Yes, your pet is dying. No, I’m afraid there’s not much we can do, she is bracing herself to say.

Her scrubs are a rich maroon, coordinating with the jewel-toned surroundings of the hushed exam room in the swanky clinic. Thick doors block the sound from outside, the interstitial space where they’ve left me alone in an echoing silence with a grim steel table and a box of tissues after the technician rushed my cat to the back, somewhere in the bowels of the hospital. The last time I saw her she was gasping for air, eyes huge, expression: betrayed.

I wonder if I will see her again.

It’s…

View original post 4,530 more words

2 responses »

    • It was for me too — so many chords over the years. I couldn’t bring but one cat when I moved so brought the one least likely to make it as a barn cat. My favorite was a hunter who would have hated apartment life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

